Friday, April 9, 2010

Email.. with Pics

Runners:

I hope each of you are doing great! I hope you all have recovered from the event! That was the toughest course on the schedule! Up next is Dirty Spokes Chicopee Woods 10K / 5K Trail Running Race (Race Number 3 of the 6 Race Series)!

Wanted to touch base to share the link for the photos from this past weekends race: http://defiantphotography.smugmug.com/Action/Running-The-Rivers-Ridge-4-3/11736064_HKVUK#828398265_tWdKr

Thanks again for choosing to be part of the events as well as spreading the word!

Best of Luck!

Thanks,

Tim
www.dirtyspokes.com
tim@dirtyspokes.com

Thursday, April 8, 2010

Trail Course

RACE COURSE:
A true trail run. This course has it all. Starting out flat and fast gives your legs a chance to warm up before heading into the woods for steep climbs, tight single track and all that trail running has to offer - water crossing, log crossings, wooden bridges, roots, rocks and beautiful scenery - ending where you started for the sprint to the end. This is a challenging course. Nestled in the woods of suburban Atlanta lies a true gem. Well groomed system of trails with gentle slopes and beautiful scenery will leave you breathless (if that doesn´t, the 4.5 miles will). Once you descend into the woods, you will forget your in the city. As a matter of fact, you will come to know why we follow the creed ´Ditch the City´.
Boling Park Course Map

Start at Kiosk.
Parade lap around field for 1.12 miles
Hard left to single track that parallels field
1.68 follow sewer line
1.70 first hill
1.91 take left fork
1.94 left
1.96 first creek crossing (you will get your feet wet it was at about 18" today)
2.09 Hill #2
2.24 Top of Hill #2
2.26 Hill #3
2.36 bottom of Hill #3 (very steep)
crossroads stay straight to 2.36 "The Wall" (you´ll know it when you get to it)
2.40 top of "The Wall", turn right
2.45 right onto Yellow blazed trail
2.71 water station, hard right
2.81 right follow Yellow blazed trail (all down hill and single track from here following the "River Ridge")
3.14 back at crossroads stay straight (don´t go up "The Wall" again)
3.18 small creek crossing
3.27 log crossing
3.28 small creek crossing
3.40 last small rise
3.65 left
3.68 left to Boy Scout Bridge (White blaze trail)
3.70 over Boy Scout Bridge
3.72 right (back onto single track that follows the parade field)
4.33 End at Kiosk.


This was part of the email I received before the race... it made me not want to do it. IT was a challenge for regular Runners... Imagine what it did to my body...

Oh an you can see why I HATED the whole 3rd mile... IT WAS PAINFULL NOTHING BUT HILLS.. I bet my legs look better than Before... haha Well for all the pain they went through they should....

Wednesday, April 7, 2010

TRAIL RUN

Here is my story…

To be able to make it to the run in time we had to spend the night at my parent’s. We didn’t go to bed until like 12 a.m. I kept waking up to sirens and ambulance sounds… AHHHH I hated it so much. I did miss my peaceful nights in the country where nights are noise free. I didn’t sleep much I was so upset. I just could not go to bed, Then around 5 in the morning I realized why it was so loud, well we had the window open… Ahhhhh and the cold breeze got to my throat and It was so scratchy, but of course I was too lazy to get up and close the window so I just sat there until 6.a.m. and then 7a.m. and then we finally got up and got ready and headed to the park. We made it to the park around 7.30, not bad for an 8.00 a.m. race.. Well we went to the kiosk and got our package. I missed the size question on Luis’ registration so some how he received a “S” oops… well as I was getting ready I saw nothing but real runners.. I was like ummm… Great.. no walkers… so they announce the the run would not start until 8:30.. Great more time.. I just wanted to get it over with.

Well so, we start the race… and here I go… I start jogging.. doing good… Start getting towards the end.. still jogging…. Jogged… Jogged… and Jogged… I was like “I got This” Suddenly I see a 2mile marker. At that time my heart just crushed in to pieces… I said “Two Miles” “Two Miles That’s it, are you kidding me, I am not even half way.. “ It just brought me down. From that point and on I was very disappointed, but my Luis kept pushing me forward. We had to go up HUGE hills… My legs were killing me. To make the story short I was able to finish. I finished in 1.16 minutes not bad for a beginner. Well I kind of gave up after I saw the 4 mile marker. I was so happy because I knew that I only had 1.5 miles left, so I slowed down a bit, and when I knew the finish line was close I was just happy and dint really care about running faster.

The whole thing about me beating luis did not work out the way I wanted it to. As soon as we saw the Finish line he slowed down… It kind of made me upset because I didn’t want him to give it to me. I wanted to beat him. He said he just wanted to see my reaction after I closed the finish line, that’s why he let me go first. My reaction was “Where is my free fruit and now let’s go home”

So we went home, Mom had made us breakfast.. It was soo good.. got in the shower, got ready for the wedding we had to go.. I was feeling fine…

Here is the fun Part!!!!

Sunday morning I wanted to cry.. I could no move my legs an inch off the bed.. I was so sore I could not even roll to the other side… yeah!!! Let’s just say was able to make it from the bed to the bathroom and then back into the bed… That was basically my schedule on Sunday, Oh yeah I was able to walk myself to the kitchen of course. Luis made hamburgers.. .yum… (I will never be to sore enough to NOT make it to the Kitchen)… I have never been so sore in my life.. I gained like 3lbs of muscle. Actually that’s my excuse for gaining weight this week. My Sunday was horrible. I wanted to do so much but all I could do was laugh at my pain. Luis was the same way.. We were like two baby goats trying to learn how to walk… Sunday was a very interesting day. But I did it and I earned 15 points on the Trail run Series… yeah, GO ME! I got 5th Place in my Category… “GO DALILA GO DALILA GO DALILA” Should I mention that there were only 4 others in the same category!!! Oh well Luis got 7th place in his… I beat him!!!

Ok well that’s my story… I will definitely do it again next year to see how much I’ve improved. I am also doing another one in July in Cumming.

I used Ingles shopping cart to do the Groceries.!!!!





Well gotta go… Take care….

Friday, April 2, 2010

Tomorrow IS HERE!

so, Tomorrow is the bid day!

I am really nervous about the run, I guess its because its not a charity one and I feel like its just going to be real runners.

I am trying to focus on the fact that by 10 a.m. it will all be over with. I have this visual in my head of everyone atanding at the finish line hanging out, laughing and eating apples and banannas, showing off their medals and then suddently they turn their heads and look at me dragging myself in. They are all in shock that their is still one more number coming in. ahhh... I cant get the images off my head, but since this is my first run I will not be embarrased to be the last one. I mean, I guess its kind of expected since I am not a runner. I guess the main thing that scared me was the email that was sent out Wednesday reminding us of the race. It said that the trail was "challenging" if its challenging for a regular runner I can't even imagine how its going to be for me. The sad thing is that 4 years ago I was able to run the trail with no problems... ahhh its soooo scary.... I can't even jog a whole mile without stopping, but my goal is to be able to do it again ONE DAY!

Well, I am going to focus more on my timing then anything. My lovely husband has already signed me up for a 5k on May 1st and I have another one on May 19th, so my goal is to improve my timing per mile. So, I should see the results as i keep doing it.

I had my weekly weight-in.... and... well I went up a bit, but its understandable since I had a burger and Pizza this week.. (yeah I Know, Which made me feel horrible knowing I was eating bad right before the run..) Well here are the Numbers.. Well Ill let you know where I started first.

Mar 17 = 96.6 Kg - BMI 35.7
Mar 24 = 95.2 Kg - BMI 35.1
Apr 02 = 95.3 Kg - BMI 35.2

My first main goal is to bring My BMI to under 30 which will take me off the Obese bracket...

GO ME!...

I am sure the run will let me know in what kind of shape I am in. I will step it up next week. I need to loose 2lbs before next Fri.

Ok, Thats enough for today, I have to go buy some running clothes for tomorrow. I will update my results Later...